Book Review: “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern

How would you define a circus?  Perhaps you might use words like mysterious, magical, whimsical, dream-like, thought provoking, full of spectacle, and definitely entertaining.  You might call it an “other” place, outside of the usual ways of the world, a place to let go of the mundane, or to seek solace.  This circus is all that and more.

The tale of this circus grips you from the moment you enter until long after you’ve left.  Like any good tale, important questions are raised.  What if you could create something that would impact countless lives?  How does one bring magic into the world?  How much of yourself would you sacrifice to do so? What obligation do you have to take the path laid out by those who raised you? Will you pass on your creation to others and how?

This is a brilliant tale that offers just enough to answer such questions enough to satisfy the narrative, yet leave the reader with much to imagine and consider on their own.  There is a framework of competition, though contrasted with cooperation.  As with any great tale, of course there is friendship and tragedy and love and duty.  The story grows in unexpected ways as new characters are woven in and take on greater importance.  Every character ultimately fits in quite well, adding new perspectives.

I picked up the book given my previously mentioned fascination with circus stories and I had heard whispers that it was good.  Reviews focused on the idea of competing magicians, and while that takes place, I felt like that often was overshadowed by the circus itself and other plot points.  As I read, it reminded somewhat of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell.  They are both set in the same century, though The Night Circus is 60 or so years later, in the late 19th and into the 20th.  I felt like they had similar tones, and both had differing approaches to magic as a theme.  Both are well worth reading for fans of magical stories set as the modern world takes shape.  The Night Circus succeeds in having a broader appeal in my opinion, and would be enjoyed by a wider audience.  In the end, the price of admission and the journey through these tents was full of wonder and enjoyment, a thoroughly fulfilling read.

About iggyfh

Hi! My name is Frank. I'm 35, and I work in a library. Part gamer, part goth, avid daydreamer, with a passing interest in sports, and a random smattering of other pursuits.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern

  1. Alison D. says:

    I agree that the magic and elegance of the circus setting often overshadowed the characters and plot, but I also thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    • iggyfh says:

      Just to be clear, I meant that as a good thing. I think the circus kind of becomes a character on its own as the book goes on, and I thought that was a nice touch and fit the evolution of the story.

Leave a comment